Modern Everyday Superwomen

Get inspired!

Chocolate Cake, I Can’t Quit You!

on April 29, 2014

What is your food or beverage weakness?  What is the one thing that feels impossible to give up when you start a diet?  Sweets?  Salty things?  Alcohol?  Sodas?

 

 

cake.jpg

Image From Morguefile.com

 

For me, it’s sweets.  I love chocolate with a cup of hot tea in the afternoon and crave cookies or cake after dinner.  I used to have to have a bowl of cereal before bed!  I’d rather have my ‘sweets’ than I would chips, a glass of wine, a burger, or any other junk food.

When I realized this, everything changed.  I said, ‘Well, I can have a glass of wine or two cookies’, and I went with the cookies.  Everything started to become a ‘this or that’ game and it made my journey much easier.  ‘Do I want a quarter cup of peanut m&ms or a small bag of doritos?’   You get the picture.

So, my idea is to take away some of the stuff you don’t absolutely have to have while still allowing a ‘treat’ food to get you through the possibly ‘tough’ diet transition.  Make sense?  I do not think it’s a good idea to cut out all the bad, unhealthy, or junk food you’re used to eating at once.  That may have worked for some people, but it did not work for me.  So, my alternative to ‘cold turkey’ is one step at a time.  That’s how I lost weight.

 

fries.jpg

Image From Morguefile.com

 

If you said salty things like fries or chips are your weak spot, then add up how many times a day you’re eating sweets or other unhealthy food.  Could you stand to cut out all the sweets at once?  Or would it be easier to eliminate more slowly?  Write this stuff in your journal so that you can have a clear picture of what you’re working with.

I started cutting out the stuff I didn’t HAVE to have.  You can do it too!  What I’m trying to say, is that its ok to have your treat food, especially when you’re just starting out.  Some diets have you completely change your eating over night and you might loose a few pounds the first week but how long does that diet last you?  Allow yourself time to get used to eating differently!  (You’ll hear me say this a million times).  You’ll have greater success in the long run and you won’t feel miserable because you messed up your ‘diet’ the first week.  THINK LONG TERM.  Smaller goals are easier to achieve and easier to stick to.  Dig out those journals and write down the first small goal you’d like to accomplish.  If you’d like to cut out soda, set a goal that you know you can reach such as cutting out one a day for a week.  Once you’ve made it to your goal, you can think about taking it to the next step or giving yourself more time.  What ever works for you. 

So, determine what the ONE thing you can’t live without is and start letting go of the other junk.  Set realistic goals and then get ready to bask in that feeling of accomplishment.

 

gummy.jpg

Image From Morguefile.com

 

Let me know how you do!

 

2 responses to “Chocolate Cake, I Can’t Quit You!

  1. Eliza says:

    Oh god, this is hard!! It’s a toss between CHOCOLATE and VODKA!! Both seem essential. I guess I’d give up the vodka first though, because I have some chocolate almost every day!

  2. yellets says:

    Definitely give up the alcohol first! And switch to dark chocolate or sugar free 🙂 I bet you’d see a difference in as little as a week.

Leave a Reply

