Modern Everyday Superwomen

Get inspired!

Making The Switch: Part 1

on May 18, 2014

Part 1:  Breakfast Switch

 

If you’re like me and have spent several years eating sugary cereals or pancakes for breakfast, you’ll find it hard to get excited about things like oatmeal or cream of wheat for breakfast.  So that’s why I took a very slow and gradual approach to changing my eating habits.  If you want to lose weight and keep it off, you can’t just skip meals or eat healthy for a few weeks.  This has to be long term.  You’ll have better results and be more successful at keeping the weight off.

WP_20140517_009.1

This is how I did it:

What I had been eating  |  Slightly healthier switch:

Lucky Charms | Honey Bunches of Oats or Shredded Wheat

Honey Bunches of Oats or Shredded Wheat | Instant Oatmeal Variety Pack (those are pre- sweetened)

Instant Oatmeal Variety Pack | Old Fashioned Oats with sugar and banana

Old Fashioned Oats with Truvia and banana | Old Fashioned Oats with raisins, walnuts, and cinnamon (no sugars or sweeteners)

 

This took some time, but I was eating way too much sugar for breakfast, so it took me longer to get used to a different taste than it may take for some of you.  Now, I eat oatmeal everyday and can’t live without it.  It keeps me feeling full for hours.  When you’re trying to lose weight, it’s so important to focus on food that stays with you longer so that you’re not tempted to snack as often or eat larger portions.  This is how you’ll WIN.  This is how you’ll reach your goal.  Change your eating for good and you can stop playing the diet game.  I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to waste the rest of my life trying out different temporary diets that I have to start OVER and OVER again.  I still allow myself to eat a ‘cheat breakfast’ once a week or every other week, but I don’t crave it nearly as much as I used to.

So there you have it, how to make the breakfast switch.  Be sure to check out my ‘Recipes’ section on the right side of my blog for healthy ideas and recipes that take the ‘bland’ out of health food.  Stay tuned for Part 2: Snack Switch!

What is YOUR favorite healthy breakfast?

Leave a Reply

