Modern Everyday Superwomen

Get inspired!

What it takes…

on May 31, 2014

DSC_0053.1.2

DEDICATION.

That’s what it takes.  You want abs?  You want to lose 10, 20, or even 50lbs?  You want to look hot in a bikini?  Then you need to have dedication!  How do you become dedicated?  Good question…

 

1.  You need a very clear idea of your goals and what you’re trying to accomplish.

We’ve talked about this before.  What do you want?  If you said, ‘To lose weight’ …GREAT!  How much?  By what date?  Why do you want to lose weight?  Now, are the goals you’ve written down realistic?  Have you checked to see what a healthy weight for your age and height are?  No?  Do it now – Check your BMI or do a simple weight calculator like this one.  This stuff is important!  Don’t brush this off and skip to the workouts.  You need to know what you’re going for and why or you wont stay motivated.  You can’t be dedicated without a clear goal ahead of you.  Otherwise you’ll just end up saying, ‘Well, I worked out once this week, so that’s good enough!’.  You won’t get results that way.

2.  You need a carefully laid out routine that has very little chance of getting interrupted.

Get out your calendar!  What is your work schedule like?  What are realistic workout days?  You have to have a plan.  You have to schedule in workouts like you would coffee with a friend, a date with the hot guy in the elevator, your mainicure, haircut, or whatever else you’d write in your planner.  Don’t schedule workouts at a busy or possibly crazy time of the day for you.  If you have half an hour after you leave work before you pick up the kids, that’s not a good time.  Wake up earlier ( I know, I know, who in their right mind wants to wake up earlier to sweat their a$$ off?).  And don’t cancel on your workouts!  Schedule it and keep that date with the gym, yoga class, dumbbells, etc…no excuses!  Your health is important.  Look at it this way, it’s either three days a week in the gym now, or three days a week at the Doc’s office later on in life.  Which would you rather do?

3.  You need to make a pact with yourself to not miss your workouts. 

No, this is not the same as step two!  You need to sit down and have a discussion with yourself and promise your beautiful body that you are going to do what it takes and do what’s best for it, no matter what.  Make a promise to yourself to stick to your routine – you’d be surprised at how well this works.  Start realizing now – in this very moment – that you are important, and your body needs you to take action so it can perform it’s best.  I assure you, your body will repay you…in ways you’re not even thinking about right now.

 WP_20140514_074.2

4.  Honor the pact with yourself!!!

When you feel tired, depressed, unmotivated, remember that you made a pact and stick to it even if you don’t feel like you are getting results.  It’s days like that, that you need exercise more than ever.  Don’t say, “Oh, I will pick things up tomorrow or the next day”…you promised yourself and if it’s one of the days you scheduled in, you NEED TO STICK TO IT!!  Enough said.  Get up and move!  Even if all you can do is fifteen minutes – do it.  Even if you have to take it extremely slow (like you could text the whole time you’re walking, slow) – do it.  If you scheduled in 30 minutes of exercise then you better spend that 30 minutes moving in some way or another.  We all have moments of feeling low, but it will pass and it will pass faster if you stick to your routine and get that heart pumping.  Trust me on this!  I have a ton of experience with not feeling motivated or feeling too depressed to workout.

5.  Don’t give up!

No matter how slow your progress seems to be going, don’t give up!  Stick with it and you will see a difference, I promise!  E-mail me if you can’t find the motivation, feel down, feel discouraged or feel like giving up.  I’ve been there.  What’s different about this time for me, compared to all the past attempts to get fit is that I have followed all of the above and NOT GIVEN UP…no matter how low I’ve felt.  And it gets easier.  Each time I have to really push myself to get moving, the next time is a little easier to convince myself to get up.

On a lighter note about dedication:

This past Saturday, I attended a graduation in heels that I haven’t worn in a long time.  We had to walk through a field, down the highway, along the bus ramp, through the parking lot and then half way around the track to get to our seats.  It was a great little cardio workout but it left my feet completely torn up!  The strap across my toes had rubbed blisters, probably before I had even made it out of the field.

Well, I pushed through the pain and wore those heels all damn day (my feet are still furious at me).  Luckily, it is flip-flop season and I have been able to let them be free to heal up.  Until it was my running day.  Oh boy.  I could have easily talked myself out of it because of my toes.  But I put on my sneakers…OUCH!  I knew this was going to hurt, but I promised myself to go jogging and I was going to do it.  So I walked out of the house and down the road, feeling my pinky toe screaming at me with every step.  And then the jogging, oh man.  It was ok at first but then my toes started hurting, worse and then a little worse and then I started feeling pain on other toes that had not been injured on Saturday.

It didn’t stop me though.

If this had been a muscle, or joint in this much pain, sure, I would have stopped and walked back but it was just my little toes and I knew it was only a skin injury, so I kept going.  By the time I rounded the corner to get back to my house I was dying to get my tennis shoes off!  I had finished my run though!  The cardio ‘rush’ from jogging was accompanied by a great feeling of pride for not giving up as I wobbled into the house.  I was a little scared to take my shoes off at first to be honest, so I did my stretches and then carefully peeled off my shoes and socks….

…my toes…

…officially HATE me…

WP_20140525_009.2

That’s what it takes.  My toes are getting better every day and I feel proud that I didn’t let some minor pain/irritant get in my way.  I have goals and I’m dedicated to reaching them.  You can get there too.  I’m here to help, if you need it.

Summary:

1.  Set a goal.

2.  Set up a routine.

3.  Make a pact with yourself.

4.  Honor the pact.

5.  Don’t give up!

You’ve got this!!

5 responses to “What it takes…

  1. Ann Ayers says:

    Thanks for leading the way for the rest of us who are struggling to make it happen. Very practical advice. You’ve obviously been there. I’m inspired to follow the steps and make it happen, too!

    • yellets says:

      Everyone struggles – I do too. The fact that it is a struggle makes the end results that much more appreciated. I’m so glad that this inspired you! You can do it! 🙂

  2. Rayers says:

    Nice points. re: your toes – next time use some moleskin (or bandaids) and do yourself a favor! Dedication without blood is always a good thing. 🙂

  3. RavenclawSam says:

    This was a really inspirational post- more than the rest of it, it was your little toes story. Now I am quite possibly going to think of it everytime I go for a run/ my toes get blisters or both (But I hope THAT never happens).

    • Oh, thank you so much!! I’m a little embarrassed that I was so foolish to KEEP walking in them all day, but I have definitely learned a lesson. I am thrilled that you found it inspirational 🙂 I hope you never get the chance to blister up your toes the way I did! It’s a good idea to keep a band aid or two in your purse (which I have started doing, lol).

Leave a Reply

